Swimming Australia names second half of squad for duel in pool

Swimming Australia names second half of squad for duel in pool

Coming off of a dominating performance at the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham, Swimming Australia announced the second half of his team which will face the United States in the next Duel in the Pool. Leading the second wave of announcements, a rising teenage star Mollie O’Callaghan, who won seven medals at the Commonwealths. Five of those medals were gold, including a 100-meter freestyle title that backed her World Championship crown from June.

O’Callaghan joins the likes of Emma McKeon and Kaylee McKeown, who were named Duel in the Pool competitors when Swimming Australia was initially announced. With O” Callaghan, second wave includes Commonwealth Games medalists Shayna Jack, Jenna Strauch, Lani Pallister, Sam Williamson, Brad Woodward and Mitch Larkins. cody simpson will also dress the Dolphins when they take on USA at the Sydney Aquatics Centre.

Ellie Cole and Matt Levywho have had outstanding Paralympic careers and are soon to retire, have also been selected to compete.

“Our athletes relish every chance to wear the Gold cap, as recent outstanding results in Birmingham have shown,” said the national team coach. Rohan Taylor said. “Any Australian team you field is special, but when given the opportunity to take on our biggest rival in front of a home crowd, I know these athletes will rise to the challenge. Pressure is a privilege, and so is it. one that we embrace. This team is a wonderful mix of generational stars and those forging a path on their heels and I encourage our fans to make sure they are there to see some of the best athletes in the world first hand. set to work.

The duel in the pool is scheduled to take place from August 19-21.

This is a list of the full Australian squad.

Grayson’s Bell
Shaun Champion
Ellie Cole
Chef Tamsin
Kai Edwards
Chelsea Gubecka
Meg Harris
Chelsea Hodges
Mack Horton
Shayna Jack
Mitch Larkins
Kareena Lee
Kyle Lee
Se-Bom Lee
Matt Levy
Will Martin
Ash McConnell
Emma McKeon
Kaylee McKeown
Lea Neale
Tom Nowakowski
Mollie O’Callaghan
Lani Pallister
cody simpson
Brendon Smith
Matilda Smith
Mikaila Smith
Jenna Strauch
Zac Stubblety-Cook
Matt Temple
Brianna Throssel
Sam Williamson
Madi Wilson
Brad Woodward