Myall Masters Swimming Club – Area News

Kerry Patterson receives the Club Member of the Year Award from Vice President Linda Stubbs.

MYALL Masters Swimming Club celebrated the conclusion of the successful summer season with the club awards ceremony on Thursday 31st March.

Members filled the Tillermans Restaurant to capacity to enjoy a sumptuous two course meal, friendly company of members and partners and the announcement of the winners.

Club President Leon Bobako welcomed Life Member Rhonda Bobako and Past Presidents Christine Sefton, Peter Kellaway and Chris Lock.

Leon gave a brief overview of the season’s successes and challenges.

President Leon said members appreciated the positive new management of the “Y” pool, which provided respite for members who did not have to install the lane ropes and pool cover.

The installation of hot water showers was a welcome addition at the end of the training sessions.

Anticipation grew as contestants received certificates for the incentive award.

Diane Perry has been announced as the winner of the 2021/2022 Myall Masters Encouragement Award.

Diane worked solidly all season trying new drills and shots with enthusiasm.

She swallows a piece of advice or a correction with a thoughtful nod and happily attempts instruction.

Diane is an inspiration to other club members.

The Major Club Member of the Year award was greeted with joy when recipient Kerry Patterson was announced.

Kerry has been an active member of Myall Masters for many years and has earned the respect of club members.
Kerry shows tireless energy and dedication to the club.

Kerry embodies the lifeguards motto of “Fun, Fitness and Friendship”.

When she’s not hosting social functions, Kerry is in the pool improving her swimming technique, working on improving her breathing, kicking and endurance.

Members are now planning how they will continue to swim during the winter months at Raymond Terrace and Maitland pools.

Myall Masters would like to thank and congratulate fellow lifeguard, Chris Lock, for his outstanding results at the recently hosted Warringah Masters Short Course Swimming Meet on April 3, 2022 at the Warringah Aquatic Centre.

This event attracted 198 swimmers from 20 clubs in the Sydney and NSW metropolitan areas.

The only participant in the Myall Masters, Chris Lock competed in four individual backstroke events in the 80-84 age category. Chris took podium honors in all 4 events and won the 100m backstroke in a new state record. A record that previously stood for 19 years.

After these incredible races, Chris is now ranked number one nationally in the 25m, 50m, 100m and 200m backstroke events for his age category.

That day, in addition to the competition, Chris also managed to find time to officiate as the official competition starter.

A truly inspiring effort.

With such excellent form, Chris is in excellent position for the upcoming 2022 Australian National Masters Swimming Championships to be held April 20-24 at Sydney Olympic Park.

Among the small number of Myall Masters individual participants in this year’s National Championships, Myall Masters will field at least two relay teams and the club will always punch above its weight against clubs with less than 50 members.

We wish Chris and the other Myall Masters participants all the best at the Nationals this month.

Hopefully all of your hard work and effort in training will produce Personal Bests for all of you!


Diane Perry, recipient of the Incentive Award.